1 Corinthians 13:13

June 14th 2016 I began a journey to Los Chilitos Guatemala. I am writing about it a year after it took place, because my experiences there follow me day to day just as they did the week after I stepped off the plane. To begin explaining all that took place during my mission trip would be a post much longer than anyone’s interest, and so I will keep this simple by giving you a brief yet important reminder.

This trip opened my eyes to a world much more selfless, caring, and humble than the one I lived in before. I will never forget the faces of the people in Los Chilitos who lived a harder, yet more appreciated life than mine. There is a lot of hardship and heartache within the village. I would not have fully understood if I hadn’t experienced it first hand.

And so here is my reminder to you, or the takeaway if you will: You are incredibly blessed to live the life you do, and you did nothing to deserve that.

The last part of my reminder is what humbles me and brings me away from the entitlement I believe I have at times. And you did nothing to deserve that. In Gods eyes, we are not entitled to anything. We did absolutely nothing to deserve being born into the life we are so blessed to live. The same can be said for those wonderful people I met in Guatemala. They didn’t do anything more or less than me to be born into their lifestyle.

Our Father truly has a never ending love for each of us. And because of this love He blessed us with things, experiences, and people we do not deserve! I think that says a lot not only about God, but about ourselves. They way we acknowledge those blessings speaks volumes.

I hope you feel overpowered with God’s love. Because He truly does love us all more than we could ever imagine. Weather they live in the suburbs of West Chester, Ohio or the hill top of Los Chilitos, that love is the same for every one of His children.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

1 Corinthians 13:13

Leave a Reply

